• Per Nørgård
  • Notturno (1992)
    (Notturno, Tongues by Night)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • org
  • 8 min

Programme Note

“Notturno, Tongues by Night” was composed 1992 as a test piece for the organist competition in Bolton. The ambiguous melodic shapes in the piece suggest ´traces of nighttime dream life´ which has inspired me to the subtitle taken from Shakespeare´s Romeo and Juliet:
´So silver sweet sound lovers´ tongues by night - like softest music to attending ears

The piece may be performed as a separate piece or with its related ´morning music´ piece “Marrinata - Tongues of Light” from the same year.

Per Nørgård.