• Per Nørgård
  • Strygekvartet nr. 6 - Tintinnabulary (1986)
    (String quartet No. 6 - Tintinnabulary)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • str4tet
  • 11 min

Programme Note


The spectrum of sound, the gesticulation – in short, the very nature of the strings – has always had a central place in my output, demonstrated by the numbers of string quartets, concertos with string soloist, chamber and solo works. The interest dates back to my school years, when I was fortunate to be able to compose for a cello-playing schoolmate and to accompany him on the piano. I discovered then the innumerable nuances of sound and playing varieties offered by just one bow, four strings and five fingers..

The bell-like association if the title reflects the special texture of the work. Like the continously changing overtones of a struck, resonating bell the four parts are unified through one single basic line, broken up in a multitude of changing dynamics, of a multifacetted rhythm and resulting in an ever transforming harmony.

The duration of the work is ca 12 minutes.

Per Nørgård (1998)