• Per Nørgård
  • Sonora (1981)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • fl, hp
  • 12 min

Programme Note

Sonora for flute and harp is a sister work to Isternia (for cymbalon, or marimba) - inspired by a little town of that name in the Greek island Tinos. During a stay there I was inspired by the timeless peace that emitted from the shimmering white sculptured steps. Both Sonora and Isternia seem to possess a certain timeless or rather 'genreless' character; this is achieved through the use of archetypal melodies and metres and a ´cubistic´ moving to and fro of these well known patterns.

Per Nørgård


Sonora: I. Calmo e sonore
Sonora: II. Poco andante
Sonora: III. Allegretto
Sonora: IV. Calmo e sonore