• 5 min
    • 19th November 2022, Musikhuset, Aarhus, Denmark
    View all

Programme Note

The original version of SURF (in Danish "Brænding") for small ensemble is from 1983. In 1992, for a ”Nørgård 60 years” concert, the composer Hans Abrahamsen made a new version – for sinfonietta.

Nørgård writes about the composition:

SURF is a short piece, 5-6 minutes, commissioned by the Danish newspaper Berlingske Tidende in 1983 for the final concert in their yearly Chamber Music Contest (for teenagers). The ensemble then – consisting of the finalists - was two flutes, clarinets, horn, piano and accordion).

Together with my work for sinfonietta “Prelude to Breaking” the present “Surf” is the nearest I have come to tone painting in music, here the raising and falling of waves – their roars and final dissolution into silence.

Per Nørgård (1992)

Please click 'More Info' for details about Per Nørgård's Surf, for large ensemble.


Score preview