• Vagn Holmboe
  • Monolith, Op. 76 (1960)
    (Symphonic Metamorphosis no.2)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • 9 min

Programme Note

Monolith (sculpture cut out of one block) was composed 1960 and is like Epitaph and Epilogue a 'Symphonic Metamorphosis'. The Technique of metamorphosis is described by Vagn Holmboe thus: 'The metamorphic development - whether this is developed through stages or in a continuous coherence - should be marked by the strictest logic, so each link in the process of development appears as an unavoidable necessity and in a constantly increasing degree points to the final change.

Vagn Holmboe