• Henrik Hellstenius
  • Five Imprints of Time II (1997)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • 3perc
  • 17 min

Programme Note

"Five Imprints of Time II" is written for three percussionists and consists of five movements or imprints of time. Each movement «moves» time in its own way, leaving behind an imprint of the new moulding of time. The polyphonic weaving of the three separate parts in movement one, two and four consists of three independent lines which determine register, density, hamonicity and instrumentation. These three movements are highly linear on the level of form but with a non-linear rotation of a consistent material on the inside. Movements three and five are non-linear static fields of unison chords where time almost does not move at all.

The five movements are related in regard to sound, spectrums and dynamics, but
each one is a separate entity, like items in an exibithion. The silence inside each
movement and in between them give muscicians and audience the chance to dwell on
each imprint and create their own sound in response to what has been given acoustically.

Dedicated to the SISU perc. trio.