• Svend Hvidtfelt Nielsen
  • Winter has Come (2002)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • 1(pic).1.1.1/
  • Soprano Saxophone
  • 18 min

Programme Note

The title "Winter has Come" is the result of my wish to have a title which equally reflects heavy snow-covered landscapes with icebergs, coldness and storm, and an inner despair and frustration. To me this title reflects both. And at the same time it reflects the conditions of the new cultural politic here in Denmark right now. Finally the title is a rewriting of Mr. Freezes final line in the film "Batman and Robin". The saxophonist Torben Snekkestad is to a great extent responsible for the character of the music. He was incautious enough to show me three sophisticated techniques, which he thought I could use now and then. Now of course there is nothing else in the music but these techniques. The first movement works with glissandi in the high register. The second movement works with quartertone melodies and a particular air-filled technique, which gives the soprano saxophone a sound like the Japanese Sakuhachi. The third movement is based on a compressed enharmonic trill.
That is what happens sometimes.

Svend Hvidtfelt Nielsen 2002

View Score