• Anders Koppel
  • Concerto no. 3 for Marimba and Symphony Orchestra (2002)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)

Composed for Martin Grubinger, Bruckner Orchester.

  • 3(pic).2.2+bcl.3/
  • Marimba; vn, vn, vc, db, perc, pf
  • Marimba
  • 17 min

Programme Note

Marimba concerto no.3 was written in December 2002 and was first performed in Linz February 2003 with the Bruckner Orchester conducted by Ingo Ingensand and with Martin Grubinger as marimba soloist.

The concerto is in one movement. The main subject is presented right from the start by the soloist, and it is developed in the first section. A solo cadenza leads to the quiet second subject and the two themes are playing together in a rising crescendo that gives birth to a new, third subject with a strong rhythm that leads to the second cadenza, and the concerto ends with the three motives side by side.

The solo part in this concerto is a technical tour de force, and it is written and dedicated to the Austrian marimba virtuoso Martin Grubinger.