• Bent Sørensen
  • The Songs of the Decaying Garden (1986)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • cl
  • 8 min

Programme Note

The Songs of the Decaying Garden is a solo piece in three movements (Andantino con delicatezza, Elgretto maniaco and Calmo, molto dolce) which to a higher degree reflects the complex, multilayered aspect of Sørensen's music, bringing to mind occasional associations to the music of Brian Ferenyhough. The work was originally composed for Lerchenborg Workshop under the title Impromptu. However, in connection with the preparations for this CD Bent Sørensen wished to make extensice revisions, and to give the work a new title as well.

- Bertel Krarup