• Bent Sørensen
  • Funeral Procession (1989)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • vn, vc, fl, cl, perc, pf
  • Violin, Viola
  • 9 min

Programme Note

Funeral Procession for violin, viola and chamber ensemble was composed in 1989 as a commission from the Sonanza Ensemble.

During recent years several of my pieces have contained sections which I privately called funeral chorales and in Funeral Procession reminiscences of moods and layers of music from those sections permeate in all directions. The music is, apart from a few swarming bursts, slow and silent. Dynamic is almost stripped away, and the musicians play as faintly as possible - almost inaudibly.

Funeral Procession is the latest part in a series of four chamber ensemble works, i.e. Clairobscur, premiered by Esbjerg Ensemble 1988, Minnewater, premiered by Ensemble Modern 1989 and Shadowland, premiered by London Sinfonietta 1990.

- Bent Sørensen


Score preview