• Per Nørgård
  • Vintermusik (1998)
    (Winter Music)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)

Based on Vinterkantate (Winter Cantata)

  • fl, cl, perc, org, gtr, vc
  • 11 min

Programme Note


When in 1975 I had finished composing my 3rd Symphony (begun in 1973), I wrote three simple melodies for two psalm texts by Ole Sarvig “The Year” and “Choral Hymn”. One of these was later included in the Danish Hymnbook under the title "Året – Som året går" (The Year – The passing year).

These three “Sarvig tunes” were derived from the same material as the second movement of the 3rd Symphony and could be harmonized together in several different tempo relationships at the same time - like fractals – which inspired me to write several choral and instrumental works in the following decade based on these melodies: “Frost Psalm”, “Winter Cantata”, “Cantica”, “Cycles” – and the instrumental “Winter Music”.

Per Nørgård