• Elizabeth Poston
  • Trio

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)
  • fl cl pf

Programme Note

Elisabeth Poston's Trio was composed for the Hampton Music Club where it received its Premiere in 1958 as part of a private concert. The following year, it was first heard in London, performed by Wilfred Smith (flute), Thea King (clarinet) and Maria Korchinska (harp).

The work is in four contrasting movements: it opens peacefully, then follows the second which is poignantly beautiful. The third is a short excursion into fairyland and the last has a strong rhythmic drive touches with a a puckish sense of humour.