• Edward Gregson
  • Tuba Concerto (wind orchestral version) (1976)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)
  • Wind Orchestra: 2+pic.2.3+ebcl+acl+bcl+cbl+2asx+tsx+bsx.2/
  • Tuba
  • 18 min

Programme Note

The concerto is in three movements, following the usual quick-slow-quick pattern: Allegro deciso, Lento e mesto, Allegro giocoso. The first is in a sonata form shell with two contrasting themes, the first rhythmic in character, the second lyrical. There is a reference made in the development section to the opening theme of Vaughan Williams's Tuba Concerto, but only in passing. The second movement unfolds a long cantabile melody for the soloist, which contrasts to a ritornello idea announced three times by the band/orchestra. The last movement is in rondo form, alternating the main theme with two episodes. The first of these is a broad sweeping tune, the second jazz-like in style. After a short cadenza, reference is made to the opening of the concerto, and the work ends with a triumphal flourish.

The composer gratefully acknowledges the assistance of Glynn Bragg in the preparation of this version.


More Info