• John McCabe
  • Afternoons And Afterwards (1981)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)

Suitable for Associated Board Grades V-VI. Series edited by Richard Rodney Bennett

  • Piano
  • 10 min

Programme Note

Afternoons and Afterwards is a set of 7 short solo piano works intended to fill the gap between starting to learn an instrument and playing 'real' music. They were dedicated to a friend whose 'little white sports car' forms the subject of the fourth work, and they otherwise reflect her interests. Part of a Novello series of such works edited by Richard Rodney Bennett, they have a grading corresponding roughly to the higher grades of the Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music.

Monica McCabe