• ob.cl/hp.pf/vn.vc
  • 16 min

Programme Note

In Motus each of the six instruments (violin, cello, clarinet, oboe, piano and harp) is used both as an equal voice in the ensemble and as a soloist, with the freedom to develop its own character and virtuosity.

The individualistic solos and ensemble collisions of the first half of the piece give way to more sombre, and ultimately, more driven music in the second.

Motus is the Latin word for ‘movement’, and can also mean ‘procession’.

© Stuart MacRae 2005




Score sample


More Info