Commissioned jointly by BBC Radio 3 and the Royal Philharmonic Society as part of the New Generation artists scheme.

1. The Mouse and the Bumblebee
2. Wee Willie Winkie
3. Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star
4. Baby, baby, naughty boy
5. As I walked by Myself
6. There was an old lady
(orchestral version also available)

  • voice/piano
  • 17 min
    • 3rd July 2024, The Dutch Church, Austin Friars, London, United Kingdom
    View all

Programme Note

The texts for the work were taken from the Oxford Dictionary of Nursery Rhymes. I am very grateful to my sister, Meg Peacocke, for the idea, for the title and for clarifying many of the texts.


Mezzo-soprano version
bass-baritone version