• Philip Glass
  • Galileo Galilei (2001)

  • Dunvagen Music Publishers Inc (World)

Commissioned by the Goodman Theatre for the 2001-2002 season.

Opera in twelve scenes.
Libretto (English) by Mary Zimmermann with Philip Glass and Arnold Weinstein.

  • 1(pic)011/1110/1perc/kybd/str (vls, vas vcs only)
  • 2 Sopranos, Mezzo Soprano, Countertenor, Tenor, Bass Baritone, 3 Baritones
  • 1 hr 40 min
  • Mary Zimmerman
  • English

Programme Note

Old Galileo - Tenor
Young Galileo - Baritone
Pope Urban VIII - Bass
Cardinal Barberini - Bass
Cardinal #1 - CounterTenor
Cardinal #2 - Baritone
Duchess Christina - Soprano
Marie Celeste - Soprano
Eos - Soprano
Sagredo - Soprano
Marie de' Medici - Soprano
Maria Magdelena - Mezzo Soprano
Scribe - Mezzo Soprano
Oracle #1 - CounterTenor
Oracle #2 - Baritone
Inquisitor #1 - CounterTenor
Inquisitor #2 - Baritone
Servant - Baritone
Salviati - Baritone
Priest - Baritone
Cardinal #3 - Bass-Baritone
Father - Bass
Simplico - Bass

Drawing from letters of Galileo and his family and various other documents, this opera retrospectively journeys through Galileo's life. Opening with him as an old, blind man after the trial and Inquisition for his heresy, it explores his religiosity as well as his break with the church, and expands into the greater, oscillating relationship of science to both religion and art, reaching its end with Galileo -as an infant- watching an opera composed by his father.