• Judith Weir
  • Tiger under the Table (2002)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Commissioned by the London Sinfonietta

  • 1(pic)111/1110/perc/pf/str(
  • 15 min

Programme Note

"A group of bright-toned winds shares the stage with a mellow trumpet and a furious bassoonist. Somewhere in the far distance a celestial string quartet is occasionally heard. Sometime later, mutual comprehension begins to dawn. Strange trios and quartets are fleetingly set up and
abandoned; there is a breakaway attempt to perform a piano concerto. Finally, all fourteen players elect to form a band and play together, which they do at first tentatively and with much pointillism, later in a dark hued two-part invention. The music closes with the whole ensemble on the verge of a warmly shared unison, ending with a fragmentary coda.

Tiger under the Table (the title refers to exceptional energy in the bass register) was commissioned by the London Sinfonietta and written during 2002-3. Its duration is fifteen minutes."


Preview the score