• Rolf Wallin
  • Kaleidophony (1984)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Commissioned by Østlandets Musikkonservatorium, Oslo

  • 4hn.4tpt.3tbn.tba
  • 10 min

Programme Note

All children (and, I think, all grown-ups too), are fascinated by the kaleidoscope, where a micro-world of fascinating patterns emerge from the ever-changing coloured plastic bits between the never-changing mirrors. In Kaleidophony, the 12 brass instruments form constantly changing coloured patterns, sometimes slowly evolving, sometimes abruptly, as when you shake the kaleidoscope.

Programme note © 1984 Rolf Wallin