• Rolf Wallin
  • Concerto for Clarinet and Orchestra (1996)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Commissioned by the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra

  • 3222/4230/timp.2perc/pf(cel)/str
  • Clarinet
  • 14 min

Programme Note

What is the True Sound of the Clarinet? The soft, mild and pastoral sound of Mozart's immortal Concerto? Or the rough, charging masculinity of Balkan folk music?

This concerto is in fact two concertos, cut in pieces and spliced squarely into each other, the soloist now in this world - and now in the other. The Janus Face of the clarinet.

Programme note © 1996 Rolf Wallin


Wallin: Concerto for Clarinet and Orchestra


Preview the score