• Kenneth Leighton
  • Household Pets (1981)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)

1. Cat's lament
2. Jolly dog
3. Goldfish
4. White rabbit
5. Bird in a cage
6. Squeaky guinea-pig
7. Animal heaven

  • Piano
  • 16 min

Programme Note

Kenneth Leighton: Household Pets, Op. 86

Cat’s Lament - Jolly Dog - Goldfish - White Rabbit - Bird in Cage - Squeaky Guinea-Pig - Animal Heaven

Kenneth Leighton studied with Bernard Rose at Oxford and with Petrassi in Rome, and since 1970 has been Reid Professor of Music at Edinburgh University. He has always been an approachable composer, and Household Pets, written in 1981, is one of his friendliest works. Tow of the pieces bear quotations from poets - Bird in Cage from Blake (‘A Robin Red Breast in a Cage / Puts all Heaven in a Rage’) and Animal Heaven from James Dickey (‘Here they are. The soft eyes open.’) The last two pieces are played without a break.
© 1982 Christopher Palmer