• Kenneth Leighton
  • Et Resurrexit (1966)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)
  • Organ
  • 14 min

Programme Note

Ex Resurrexit is perhaps best described in the composer's own words:

"Although purely abstract in design, the work attempts to give music and expression to the individual's struggle for belief in the miracle of the resurrection. The opening phrase of four notes is a kind of symbol, and in musical terms the struggle is between chromatic and diatonic versions of this simple idea. Although in three distinct movements the form of the piece could also be described as continuous variation, since the opening phrase undergoes constant transformation in the course of each movement."


Et Resurrexit (Theme, Fantasy & Fugue), Op. 49: I. Theme
Et Resurrexit (Theme, Fantasy & Fugue), Op. 49: II. Fantasy
Et Resurrexit (Theme, Fantasy & Fugue), Op. 49: III. Fugue

View Score

Score sample