• Philip Glass
  • A Madrigal Opera (1979)

  • Dunvagen Music Publishers Inc (World)

Commissioned by the Holland Festival

Opera in four parts.

  • vn (va)
  • Soprano, Mezzo Soprano, Alto, Tenor, Baritone, Bass
  • 35 min

Programme Note

The work, written for the Dutch theatre artist Rob Malasch, is conceived as an abstract music-theatre work which would then be "completed" by the various future directors. It is for this reason that, though the work has a clear emotional shape, it has no specific theatrical content.