• Philip Glass
  • The Photographer (1982)

  • Dunvagen Music Publishers Inc (World)

Commissioned by the Holland Festival 1982

Mixed media in three parts by Philip Glass and Rob Malasch.
Lyrics (English) by David Byrne

  • 1.0+ssx+asx.0.0/
  • chorus (4S, 2Mz)
  • Soprano, 3 dancers; violin
  • 1 hr 30 min
  • David Byrne
  • English

Programme Note

Flora, in Act 1 only - soprano
Chorus - 4 sopranos, 4 mezzo-sopranos
Muybridge, Flora, Colonel Larkyns - 3 dancers

Music-drama based on the scandal-filled life of the photographer Edward Muybridge, whose motion studies of people and animals made him famous, and whose murder of his wife's alleged lover made him notorious. 'The Photographer' utilizes drama, dance, and slides of Muybridge's photographs. Act I is a 20 minute play with incidental music recounting the circumstances under which Muybridge became a murderer and his subsequent trial and acquittal. Act II is a violin solo with orchestra, accompanied by a slide show of Muybridge's photographs. Act III is a dance involving all the characters.