• Judith Weir
  • Arise! Arise! You Slumbering Sleepers (1999)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Commissioned by Judy Mowschenson in memory of her sister, Rosalind Hunter, and by the Schubert Ensemble Trust, Chamber Music 2000

  • pf/vn.va.vc
  • 3 min

Programme Note

Arise! Arise! , for piano quartet, was written for the Schubert Ensemble/Chamber Music 2000 in 1999. It is based on an English/American folksong called 'Arise! Arise! you slumbering sleepers'., which is heard in fragments against a bell-like ostinato. I have dedicated the piece to Margaret Semple, who taught me music, in the most inspiring way, when I was at school.

© Judith Weir


Sample Pages


More Info