• Kenneth Leighton
  • Six Studies (1969)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)
  • Piano
  • 18 min

Programme Note

Kenneth Leighton: Six Studies (Study-Variations) Op. 56
Adagio molto
Allegro molto e secco, molto ritmico
Adagio molto, misterioso ma molto expressivo
Allegro leggiero e capriccioso
Allegro molto, nervoso
Presto con bravura

The Six Studies (Study-Variations) Op. 56, written during 1968-69, were first performed by Colin Kingsley in the Freemason's Hall, Edinburgh, in 1972. It is one of several sets of variations which Leighton wrote for the piano. The variations are based on chord formations of four notes outlined in the opening bars. Each of the six movements explores some particular aspect of technique and texture and, whether in the stabbing insistence of the second and sixth movements, the bell-like intonations of the third or the capriciousness of the fourth, Leighton maintains an instinctive idiomatic ease throughout.

View Score

Score sample