• Nicola LeFanu
  • Songs & Sketches (1971)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)

Commissioned by the Farnham Festival

  • min. 6vlc
  • 13 min

Programme Note

Songs and Sketches was commissioned by the Farnham Festival for Kathleen Anderson’s Cello Ensemble. This lively ensemble had players ranging from five-year old beginners on open strings to accomplished grade VIII teenagers. Accordingly my pieces provided for every standard; some movements using everyone, others drawing on smaller groups from within the larger ensemble.

1. Fanfare
2. Whispering Song
3. Czechoslovak Love Song
4. Drone Song for a Computer
5. Canon a 4
6. ‘The world turns on its dark side’
7. Traffic.

A selection of movements can be played, or the suite can be played complete in the order above, perhaps repeating the opening Fanfare as a finale.

Nicola LeFanu