• Nicola LeFanu
  • Moon Over Western Ridge, Mootwingee: Quartet for Saxophones (1985)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)
  • sax4tet
  • 13 min

Programme Note

This quartet was written in Sydney in 1984, just after I had returned from a month in the outback country of Western New South Wales. Perhaps the listener will discern in the music some of the images I brought back from that trip: great distances, great quiet; ancient trees standing in the white sand of a dry creek bed; groves of golden wattle, alive with birds; grey-green desert as far as the eye can see, broken by ranges of craggy hills; shapes ever-changing, in the shimmer of midday heat or the shadowy world of a moonlit night. The quartet lasts for about fifteen minutes, and was composed especially for the Rascher Quartet. Its harmony moves from diatonic clarity into the shaded world of microtones.

Nicola LeFanu