• Nicola LeFanu
  • Lament 1988 (1988)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)

Commissioned by Capricorn with funds from Greater London Arts

  • ob.clva.vc
  • 16 min

Programme Note

The Lament of the title refers to two anniversaries which too place in 1988. Firstly, July 18th was the 70th birthday of Nelson Mandela. Secondly, 1988 was the year in which Australia celebrated its bi-centennial. The arrival of the English in January 1788 was the beginning of the end for the Aborigines.

My quartet has a quality of lament running right through it, from the out-cry at the opening which returns in many different guises through the central cor anglais solo to the concluding viola solo. The scoring was chosen for its dark colour: oboe doubling cor anglais, clarinet doubling bass clarinet, viola and cello. The melodic lines and harmony are often inflected with quarter-tones.

Lament 1988 was written for Capricorn, who commissioned it with funds provided by GLAA.

© Nicola LeFanu


LeFanu: Lament 1988