• Philip Glass
  • Concerto Fantasy for Two Timpanists and Orchestra (2000)

  • Dunvagen Music Publishers Inc (World)

Commissioned for timpanist Jonathan Haas by The American, Milwaukee, Peabody, Phoenix and Saint Louis Symphony Orchestras


  • 2+pic.2.2+Eb+bcl.2/4.3.2+btbn.1/4perc/hp.pf/str(
  • 2 Timpanis; 2+pic.2.3+Eb+bcl.ssx.2asx.tsx.barsx.2/4.3.2+btbn.2euph.1/6perc/hp.pf/
  • 2 Timpanis
  • 27 min

Programme Note

Jonathan Haas approached me almost 10 years ago with an invitation to write a Timpani Concerto for him. It seemed we were in agreement to begin our project when a series of operas and symphonic commissions led to a series of postponements. Now, almost 10 years later, the work is finally completed - a three movement concerto with cadenza. It has also grown into a "double" concerto requiring two timpanists playing a total of nine timpani between them with half a dozen orchestras ready to perform it in its first year. Jonathan and their resident timpanist will be the dual soloists. I am delighted to be able to present the completed work and I commend Jonathan for his patience and undiminished enthusiasm.
Philip Glass


Movement I


Preview the score