• Nicola LeFanu
  • Chiaroscuro (1969)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)
  • Piano
  • 13 min

Programme Note

Chiaroscuro for solo piano was written and first performed in 1969/70. It has seven short movements:
Exultate; Refrain; Sound and Silence; Epithalamion; Reflection and Cadenza; Refrain; Scherzo and Epilogue. Each movement is a variation on the same basic set, and at the same time the movements are variations of each other. Each individual movement has a simple and direct characterisation, but reflections are cast back and forth across the work as a whole. In the shading and contrast of dynamics and timbre, of rhythmic gesture and harmonic language, the work is exploring the implications of its title - Chiaroscuro.

Nicola LeFanu