• Malcolm Arnold
  • Concerto No 2 for Horn & Strings (1956)

  • Paterson Publications (World)
  • str
  • horn
  • 14 min

Programme Note

Sir Malcolm Arnnold: Concerto No. 2 for Horn and String Orchestra Op. 58

1. Con energico
2. Andante grazioso
3. Vivace - presto

This concerto was written for Dennis Brain at the end of 1956. It is in three movements.

The first movement is in a sonata form and the horn plays both the first and second subjects in the exposition.

The form of the second movement is very simple, being A. B. A. It is designed solely to exploit the superb cantabile playing of the soloist, which is the most difficult aspect of all wind playing.

The last movement is in rondo form with a very lively coda.

© Sir Malcolm Arnold


Concerto No.1 for Horn & Orchestra, Op.11: 1. Allegro comodo
Concerto No.1 for Horn & Orchestra, Op.11: 2. Andante con moto
Concerto No.1 for Horn & Orchestra, Op.11: 3. Allegro con brio


More Info