• Francis Poulenc
  • Sonata for flute and piano (1957)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)
  • flute/pf
  • 12 min
    • 30th October 2021, Musikkens Hus, Aalborg, Denmark
    • 28th November 2021, ODEON, Odense, Denmark
    View all

Programme Note

Francis Poulenc wrote the SONATA FOR FLUTE AND PIANO in December 1956 and it is dedicated to the American patroness of the arts, Elisabeth Sprague Coolidge. The first performance was given by Jean-Pierre Rampal accompanied by the composer in June 1957.

It is in three movements:
1. Allegro maliconico
2. Cantilena
3. Presto giocoso


Sonata for Flute and Piano: 1. Allegro malincolico
Sonata for Flute and Piano: 2. Cantilena
Sonata for Flute and Piano: 3. Presto giocoso