• Elizabeth Maconchy
  • Reflections (1960)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)
  • ob.clvlahp
  • 12 min

Programme Note


This work was composed in 1960 to a commission from the BBS and was first performed by the Melos Ensemble at a BBC invitation Concert in April 1961.
The title is purposely ambiguous intending to suggest several possible meanings. There are four short contrasting movements which all reflect in various ways on the opening of the work. The ideas derive thematically from this opening material and they spring to a great extent from the individual character of the four instruments.

Elizabeth Maconchy


Maconchy: Reflections I.
Maconchy: Reflections II.
Maconchy: Reflections III.
Maconchy: Reflections IV.