• Elizabeth Maconchy
  • Five Sketches for Viola (1984)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Commissioned by Nicholas Logie

  • viola
  • 12 min

Programme Note


I have always had a particular affection for the viola with its dark tone-colour and its unlimited expressive range.

I have tried in these pieces to explore that range and to make them well varied in rhythm and content.

The note E which the work begins and ends serves as a sort of "point d’appui” all through.

FIVE SKETCHES was commissioned by Nicholas Logie and first performed by him on 31 May 1984 at the Wigmore Hall.

Elizabeth Maconchy