Commissioned by Sheba Sound

  • 2ob.bsn/hpd
  • 8 min

Programme Note

Trittico is written for the Sheba Sound Group - 2 oboes, bassoon and harpsichord: an intriguing ensemble for which I enjoyed writing.

It is a lighthearted piece with an edge to it, and is in three short movements.

The Prelude, allegro vivace, has a more contemplative middle section. A Ninna-nanna or Lullaby follows: it is a quietly rocking piece till the baby wakes up, allegro feroce, but is lulled to sleep again.

The Finale is a lively contrapuntal vivo in 5/8 time.

Elizabeth Maconchy