• Elizabeth Maconchy
  • Colloquy (1979)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Commissioned by Ingrid Culliford

  • flutepf
  • 12 min

Programme Note


COLLOQUY was commissioned by Ingrid Culliford ans Shellagh Sutherland with funds provided by the Arts Council of Great Britain. They gave the first performance on 2 June 1979 at Wigmore Hall, London. It is in four concise movements. The first is forthright with rather angular themes, but with a brief lyrical section, echoed at the close. A fleeting Scherzo follows:at the centre point it turns momentarily into a dreamlike walz, overheard as it were from the distance. The slow movement is improvisatory in character. The finale is a rigorous and lively affair, interrupted only by a reminiscence of the lyrical idea from the first movement.