• Elizabeth Maconchy
  • Contemplation (1978)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Commissioned by Rohan de Saram and Douglas Young

  • cello/pf
  • 10 min

Programme Note

CONTEMPLATION for cello and piano plays for about ten minutes and consists of a single span. Within the span a number of diverse though interrelated ideas are contained.
The quiet passage, moving stepwise, with which it opens is introduced by the cello, then taken up by the piano- to be interrupted by a chord which acts each time as a sort of call to attention. A rapid passage (derived from the opening) ensues; next a Tranquillo section with rocking chords in the piano and an expressive melody spanning wide intervals for the cello. A vigorous middle section follows and further ideas emerge.
After a climax the movement unwinds again and ends contemplatively.

Elizabeth Maconchy