• Kevin Volans
  • The Man With Footsoles of Wind (1993)
    (This Is How It Is)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Commissioned by Dancelines Productions and the English National Opera Contemporary Opera Studio, with assistance from the Arts Council of Great Britain

Dedicated to Yvar Mikhashoff

  • 1(pic)02(Ebcl:bcl)0/2.1.0+btbn.0/2perc/pf(cel).hp/str
  • Treble, 2 Sopranos, Tenor, Baritone, spoken part
  • 1 hr 30 min
  • Roger Clarke
  • English

Programme Note


The main body of the opera is set in the Ethiopian desert and is, like Bruce Chatwin’s book, ‘an imaginary conversation on an imaginary journey’. Roger Clarke’s libretto draws on Rimbaud’s A Season in Hell which to some extent prefigures Rimbaud’s wanderings in Africa, like a kind of ‘songline’.