• Kevin Volans
  • String Quartet No 4 "The Ramanujan Notebooks" (1990)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Dedication: Elizabeth Chatwin

  • 2vn.va.vc
  • 26 min

Programme Note

The first movement is a reworking of material I wrote for Shobana Jeyasingh’s dance opera Correspondences, a full length work based on the life and work of the Indian mathematician S. Ramanujan (1887-1920). The commission was extremely unusual insofar as, in Baratha Natyam, the foot-patterns and rhythms of the dancers were worked out first by Shobana. I then wrote music to match these. In the quartet I have remodelled some of the rhythms to make them more fluid. The first movement is in 2 parts.

The second movement was written in 1994 and is derived largely from my orchestral piece One Hundred Frames. The piece is dedicated to Elizabeth Chatwin.

Kevin Volans


"The Ramanujan Notebooks" String Quartet No.4: 1st Movement
"The Ramanujan Notebooks" String Quartet No.4: 2nd Movement