• Richard Rodney Bennett
  • Nonsense (1979)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)
  • piano duet
  • SATB
  • 20 min

Programme Note

Nonsense was composed in 1979, but was not performed until its revised version in 1984. It is a setting for youth choir and piano duet of the seven poems by Mervyn Peake:

1 Of Pygmies, Palms and Pirates
2 Aunts and Uncles
3 Lean Sideways on the Wind
4 O Here It Is! And there it is!
5 How Fly the Birds of Heaven
6 The Men In Bowler Hats
7 The Dwarf of Battersea

Nonsense was first performed by the National Youth Choir of Great Britain conducted by Michael Brewer accompanied by the composer and Susan Bradshaw (pianos) on 18th July 1984 at the Gateway Theatre, Chester as part of the Chester Summer Music Festival.