• Richard Rodney Bennett
  • Excursions (1993)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)

Commissioned by South East Arts

  • pf
  • 27 min

Programme Note

Are three short piano movements which share the same name as a similar group of pieces by Samuel Barber. There is also an obvious link with Gershwin’s Three Preludes for piano. Each movement is structurally and stylistically very different. The first has a heavily syncopated first subject and a tender second theme; the second movement is much freer with a blues-like feel. The finale follows a jazz form more closely; extemporaneous variations or ‘verses’ which build up tension before ending and unexpected and humorous way.

View Score

Score sample