• Richard Rodney Bennett
  • After Ariadne (1986)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)

Commissioned by Paul Silverthorne

  • violapf

Programme Note

After Ariadne was commissioned by Paul Silverthorne (viola), who gave the first performance with the composer at the piano, in the Pittville Pump Room at the 1987 Cheltenham Festival. Both After Ariadne and the string quartet, Lamento d'Arianna, written in the same year, are based on the Monteverdi madrigal Lasciate Mi Morire.