• Richard Rodney Bennett
  • Sonata for Wind Quintet and Piano (1986)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)

Commissioned by the Dorian Wind Quintet

  • fl.ob.cl.hn.bsn.pf

Programme Note

This work was commissioned by, and is dedicated to, the Dorian Wind Quintet.

It was written in New York in December 1986 and January 1987 and received its first performance on April 21st in New York.

It is one continuous movement lasting about 15 minutes. Towards the end there is a cadenza for wind quintet followed by a cadenza for the piano.