• Haflidi Hallgrímsson
  • Solitaire (1970)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)
  • Cello
  • 14 min

Programme Note

Solitaire (1970, rev. 1991)

For solo cello (dedicated to Gunnar Kvaran)

In September 1970, I made my debut as a composer, performing Solitaire – my solo debut piece for cello – in the Nordic House in Reykjavik. Since then, Solitaire has undergone several revisions, and in one sense, has become my "compositional diary”, during my years as a concert-giving cellist. It reflected to a certain degree, my preoccupation with various aspects and trends in contemporary music.

In 1991, I decided to restore Solitaire to its original form, for a performance of the work, in the National Gallery of Art in Reykjavik, on the 29th September, that same year. I dedicated it then to Gunnar Kvaran, who gave the first performance of the definitive version.

Solitaire reflects various influences, as can be expected in an early composition, yet it contains already, some compositional ideas and stylistic features, which have over the years become an integral part of my style as a composer. There are five movements:

1. Oration
2. Serenade
3. Nocturne
4. Dirge
5. Jig

© Haflidi Hallgrímsson