• Thea Musgrave
  • Soliloquy I (1969)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Written for Siegfried Behrend; tape in collaboration with Daphne Oram

  • Guitar/tape
  • 9 min

Programme Note

In the 'Soliloquy', the tape and solo guitar are closely integrated, not only compositionally, but also the source material for the pate (though subsequently treated electronically) is made entirely from the guitar.

There are three main sections, which form one continuous movement: Dectamando, Andante espressivo, Cariccioso Appassionate.

The electronic tape was made in collaboration with Daphne Oram in her studio near London

Written in 1969 for Siegfield Behrend.

Thea Musgrave


Siegfried Behrend