• Thea Musgrave
  • Sonata for Three (1966)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)

Commissioned by Donald McLachlan

  • flgtrvn
  • 7 min

Programme Note

The Sonata for Three was commissioned in 1966 by Donald McLauchlin for his son and two friends to play at a music competition at Winchester College.

The unusual combination of flute, violin and guitar proved to be a stimulating challenge.

The work has four short movements: Declmando; Notturno which makes use of the very effective guitar harmonics; Improvisando, where certain rhythmical details are left free; and finally Scherzando, a lively rhythmical movement.

Thea Musgrave