• Thea Musgrave
  • Serenade (1961)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Commissioned by the John Lewis Partnership for the Melos Ensemble

  • fl.clhpva.vc
  • 13 min

Programme Note

Serenade was written in 1961 for the Melos Ensemble of London. There are three movements: Vivo, dry and rhythmic but with contrasting lyrical moments; Andante mainly led by the clarinet, though the viola takes over a solo role in the central climax; finally another Vivo where a scherzo-like theme, played first by the flute, gives the character of the movement.

Thea Musgrave