• Thea Musgrave
  • Monologue (1960)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Written for Margaret Kitchin

  • Piano
  • 5 min

Programme Note

This short work (duration 5 minutes) was written in 1960 for Margaret Kitchen.

Although the music is rhapsodic in character, it is nevertheless composed over a structural background of variation form. The textures build up gradually though the impetus is momentarily checked when a fugal passage makes its appearance and then quickly leads to the culminating point of the work, a big declamatory climax.

Thea Musgrave





More Info