Commissioned by the Scottish Amateur Music Association

  • Brass Band
  • 7 min

Programme Note

Theme - Solemn
Variation I - Restless
Variation II - Mysterious
Variation III - Lively
Variation IV - Noble
Variation V - Brilliant

It was a result of a commission from the Scottish Amateur Music Society that Thea Musgrave wrote her first work for Brass Band. It was written for the National Youth Brass Band of Scotland who gave the first performance in Scotland in 1966.

The composer says that she was intrigued by the unusual colouring which the brass tones offered, and in her Variations for Brass Band she uses the brilliant possibilities of these to full advantage, achieving fascinating effects. The work is based on an original theme, on which there are five variations.